Socks as fruit protectors

I saw an old post on an Australian craft blog called Peasoup of the day, giving a knitting pattern for fruit protectors. I thought these things could be an attractive way to prevent my apples, peaches and pears from looking battered by the time I eat them at work. But I don’t really have time for such a project, so it got me thinking about socks…

Perhaps old socks, very clean of course, could serve the same purpose? I tried it yesterday with an old walking sock and rubber band. It certainly did the trick; my apple made it to work without damage and not a hint of cheese was detected!

So what do you think, yeah our nay to old socks as a low impact lunch aid and would you go to the trouble of knitting a fruit protector?

Leave a Reply

